Coward?

J4M13 UK

White Belt
Reaction score
i have been training in muay thai for nearly two years now but still when i am full head sparring i still flinch away when i see the punches coming at me and cover up, the worst thing is i know i am doing this and i feel like poeple think i am a coward for doing it.

i have been hit multiple times and know it doesnt hurt that much when sparring with 16oz gloves but i dont know how to overcome this kind of fear.

any suggestions?

Bruno@MT

Senior Master
Reaction score
I don't spar full contact. Never did, never will.
However, it seems to me that it would be stupid to train yourself to allow you to get hit in the head. If you ever fight without gloves (street) or with light gloves, then you will react like you conditioned yourself to do, which is to let it connect.

16 oz gloves or not, the appropriate reflex imo is to try and prevent yourself from getting hit. If it happens, it happens. C'est la vie. But you should not conciously let it happen.

Just my 2 ct.

Flea

Beating you all over those fries!
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I don't think it's cowardice at all. The body is hard-wired to do exactly that, and it's consistent with every species. Even single-celled organisms will flinch if you give them an unpleasant stimulus.

I couldn't tell you how to move beyond that initial response. In my own form we practice everything in super-duper slow motion so we can see the flow as clearly as possible - maybe that would help. Ultimatley I'd just suggest that you ask your teacher for guidance. Best of luck.

Last edited:

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
i have been training in muay thai for nearly two years now but still when i am full head sparring i still flinch away when i see the punches coming at me and cover up, the worst thing is i know i am doing this and i feel like poeple think i am a coward for doing it.