Combative training for Women

actuarialgal

White Belt
Reaction score
I recently went to a self defense seminar for women put on by ITD Systems, and I can't believe how different it was compared to the karate classes I have taken in the past. The instructor called it "combatives Training" as opposed to an actual martial art. I have to say I learned more about street self defense in 4 hours than in a couple years of weekly classes. I'm looking into expanding on this type of training and taking more classes, but ITD is in Buffalo and it is a long drive for me. Does anyone have any info on this or other training of this type in the Syracuse / Utica area?

Thanks!

E

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I have no knowledge about what you are asking how ever may I suggest you drop a post in the meet and greet area and introduce yourself to all.

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
I recently went to a self defense seminar for women put on by ITD Systems, and I can't believe how different it was compared to the karate classes I have taken in the past. The instructor called it "combatives Training" as opposed to an actual martial art. I have to say I learned more about street self defense in 4 hours than in a couple years of weekly classes. I'm looking into expanding on this type of training and taking more classes, but ITD is in Buffalo and it is a long drive for me. Does anyone have any info on this or other training of this type in the Syracuse / Utica area?

Thanks!

E

Glad to hear that you had a good experience! :) IMHO, a womens SD course should focus on just that....short, simple and effective things that can be taught in a short amount of time, that are effective and easy to learn. Now, this isn't to say that joining a regular martial arts class can't be effective, but there is a difference in the way the material is taught. :)

Mike

Brian R. VanCise

MT Moderator
Staff member