Can Karate Stand a Chance Against Aikido?

Pikaboy777

White Belt
Reaction score
I'm not sure if I'm posting in the right spot so let me know if this is the wrong place to ask this.

I'm not an expert in martial arts (I'm pretty much a total novice) but I always wanted to know if a offensive-based martial art, like Karate and Taekwondo, is capable of lasting or even defeating a fighter that uses Aikido. I've seen a few YouTube videos of Aikido in action and, so far, I've noticed the Aikido practitioner barely takes any hits from a fighter who used Taekwondo. In fact, almost every attempt the Taekwondo fighter made ends up with him being in a joint lock or on the ground. Like I said, I'm not an expert so I probably don't know the whole story on either fighting style. So can any of you help me answer this question? I would be very grateful! ^^

Paul_D

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I always wanted to know if a offensive-based martial art, like Karate and Taekwondo, is capable of lasting or even defeating a fighter that uses Aikido.
Before that can be answered you need to decide what criteria you are using to define how someone wins or loses.

Scoring points?
Breaking limbs?
Ring/Octogon control?
Pummelling them into whimpering pile of snot in the middle of the street?

OP
P

Pikaboy777

White Belt
Reaction score
Before that can be answered you need to decide what criteria you are using to define how someone wins or loses.

Scoring points?
Breaking limbs?
Ring/Octogon control?
Pummelling them into whimpering pile of snot in the middle of the street?
....I didn't even think about that. ^^; Well, I guess it would be the case of fighting until one of the fighters is unable to continue. Basically the last choice you said but not as drastic.

Tony Dismukes

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score