Bro-mance

Curiousminds

White Belt
Reaction score
Ok this is a bit long so please bare with me.

Ive been training for 6 years straight in one particular art. Ill keep what art, out of this discussion as its not relevant, plus a couple of years on and off.

I spent my time as a regular in 3 dojo’s over that time.

We all have our reasons for training in the arts and mine is to keep me fit and healthy and to give me some confidence if I ever need to get out of a sticky situation as there have been these time on a number of occasions.

For me its about not fighting. To be confident within myself and my abilities and project that confidence in my everyday life so I am not a weak target.

In the dojo there is a relationship between the Uke and Tori and one of the Uke’s jobs is to help your partner understand and execute the technique we are practicing by giving constructive feedback, applying sufficient resistance to help them find the correct application and testing the technique for real once they understand the technique.

I am really not interested in getting into a debate about what art is more effective or not in the real world. As I said, we all have our reasons for training and for a lot of us its not about fighting, its about not fighting.

So that’s a bit of background, now I come to the problem I have.

Over the last 6 years I have found a certain dynamic among students that when it comes to partnering up, the inexperienced (and the females) get left standing there due to no one wanting to train with them.

One of the dojos I attended had this dynamic very well in check with the sensei choosing who trained with new students (beginners & females) before saying “partner up”. It worked well and there didn’t seem to be any issues with that.

When I first started training this dynamic was very obvious and thought this would change as I get more experienced.