Anime Recommendations?

Dronak

Black Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score
Yeah, this is totally non-MA, but that's what the locker room is for, right? :) I seem to remember Kaith mentioning he also ran a board for anime/gaming type discussions, so I thought maybe some of those people would be here be into anime. I think I found his board, but didn't see a ton of anime specific stuff there, so I thought I'd ask my question here and see what sort of response I could get.

I'm relatively new to the whole anime world. I've seen some stuff on TV and generally liked it. Most of those were oriented more towards children though. There's nothing wrong with that, I like kids' shows, too. (I'll gather together a list of shows I've seen that I think are considered anime if you want to know.) But this past Saturday I was at home and watched the Adult Swim block on Cartoon Network and saw a bunch of other shows geared towards a more adult audience. I think the current typical line up is Inuyasha, Yuyu Hakusho, Cowboy Bebop, Gundam 0083, Mobile Suit Gundam, and Outlaw Star. Rather different from the more children oriented shows I've seen and they looked pretty good to me. I plan to watch some more of these on TV when I can, but I also understand that there are some problems with editing and dubbing when things get imported from Japan to the US. Searching the web I've found places to buy shows, often in the original Japanese with English subtitles, and I was thinking of maybe getting some of those. However, being new I don't really know exactly what to get, so I was hoping to get some suggestions from others.