Am I too old to start training?

RalphIsMyName

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I'm 30 years old and very interested in Muay Thai. I'm very interested in training but i keep getting apprehensive about it. I have zero experience in martial arts so I'm worried and I admit, a little intimidated about it. I've been a weight lifter my entire life. Im about 6'5 220 pounds so strength isn't an issue but I'm not very flexible at all. I'm also epileptic which is concerning because I can't take shots to the head. I'm not interested in competing or getting in tournaments I just want to learn the craft and learn how to be confident in defending myself. Would it be a bad idea for me to take lessons considering my inexperience, age, and epilespy? I live in the greater chicago area. Thanks in advance for your feedback and i greatly respect anyone who is in or has been in martial arts.

gerardbu07059

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
As long as your physician has cleared u out to do strenuous exercises then my answer is no you are not too old to train. I seen woman older than you taken ip the sport for the health benefits

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk

drop bear

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
At 30 it is about time to do something new.

Headhunter

Senior Master
Reaction score
Hell no what's the point you'll be dead soon of old age so what's the point.....

That's what I'd say if we were in the 1920s...seriously since when was 30 considered old some people don't start fighting in competitions until late in life. Randy couture didnt start training in mma until he was 36 and he became one of the greatest fighters of all time. Go train or don't train but don't use age as an excuse not to

MrRazot

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
As everyone is saying above, age isn't really an excuse these days.
There's no shame in taking a beginners class, and most teachers should be willing to do 1 on 1 sessions.