Advice on improving kicks (Yellow belt in Bushido Karate)

happydayz7

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi everyone
Am hoping for some fitness advice on improving my kicks (side, front, back, twist). I'm relatively new to martial arts having started as a white belt Oct 2016 with no experience in kicks etc.
I've just graded to a yellow belt and the kicks now need to be above waist height. My problem seems to be opening my hips as I can't seem to raise, hold or kick either leg very powerfully at all. Last lesson I also became very light headed and nearly fainted having had a lesson focused on kicking (I had eaten plenty beforehand, although it was really warm in the dojo which may explain some things but not all...) - does kicking affect blood pressure much?
When speaking with my teacher, he said although I may be fit otherwise - I run regularly and attend a circuits class plus lots of yoga, I may not be doing the right exercises for the more explosive intensity of training that is needed during my class with him.
Are there any really good exercises I should be doing to stretch, strengthen and improve my cardio?
My job is sedentary, working in front of a computer all day which can't be helping things.
Any advice very much appreciated, as I really want to learn and improve in my practice (and preferably not pass out whilst doing so)!
Thanks so much.

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I am no expert, but my first thought is to see your doctor if you're getting light-headed during workouts.

After that, I'd say jumping rope is one of the best and most overlooked exercises (maybe because it's so simple and no health guru can make a killing teaching it). Teaches coordination, balance, and helps with cardio very much. Gets that spring in your step also.

Stretching can also help with kicks.

Also be sure you have some rest time built into your exercise regimen. Body needs time to heal.

CB Jones

Senior Master
Reaction score