Absolute newbie, Portland Oregon. What are my options?

Drame22

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello all,

My name is Thomas. I signed up for this forum to learn more about martial arts, prior to actually taking classes. I've never been in a real fight(kid fights don't count right?), nor do I have any experience with martial arts except movies such as Ip Man and Fearless. However, I have always wanted to learn and recently, I starting researching it in detail.

My personal favorite martial art is Wing Chun. Donnie Yen is famous for this style, and it was an absolute joy to watch him beat the everloving crap out of villians in Ip man and Ip man 2.

My primary goal is self-defense. I'm not the type to start fights(in fact I try very hard to reason my way out of fighting), but if one starts I would certainly like to be able to finish it. Other than that, I'm looking to lose my beer belly and quicken my reflexes. My funds are extremely limited, however I can definitely save up to buy needed equipment. My dad has cleared out a 5'x7' section of the basement for use as a workout area, and we plan to install a pull-up bar in the rafters. I also have a pretty spacious back yard if that's needed to. I'm looking to do the actual exercising at home, and the learning in class.

So here it is, layed out as best I can:

I need some sort of daily workout routine(or a weekly, work-rest-work-rest....whathaveyou) that I can do at home. I've been told jump roping is great for legs and pull ups good for arms, but that A) came from friends who may or may not know what they're talking about, and B) only covers my limbs instead of my entire body. Any thoughts or workout plans of your own? I'm 6ft, 220 pounds, and I can lift a fair amount of weight. I believe my record is 45lb barbells in each hand. Please, hold your applause at that world record, haha.