What do BJJ, Judo, and Wrestling specialize in?

skribs

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Probably the three most popular grappling arts (at least in my mind), what is it that each of these specialize in?

Why would someone want to pick one over the other, if all other factors (location, cost, pedigree of instruction, etc) are equal?

I know that BJJ has an emphasis on the ground game, but what do Judo and Wrestling do that BJJ doesn't? What do each of them do that the other doesn't?

Gerry Seymour

MT Moderator
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I don't know enough of wrestling to speak to it, at all. Of BJJ, I know only what I see of it currently. Of Judo, I mainly know what it was when I studied it briefly more than 30 years ago. Those caveats given, here's my take:

BJJ specializes in controlling from guard and escaping (or submitting) from mount. Side mount/control is a variation on this theme. That's probably a gross over-simplification.

Judo specializes in throwing and avoiding being thrown. When I studied, that wasn't as deep a specialization - we spent significant time studying ground work that you now see more in BJJ, so there were a lot of arm locks and ground control.

Hanzou

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Judo is Japanese Jacket wrestling. They specialize in upright throws, but they do have newaza and chokes. However, the highest goal in judo is the perfect five point throw where the opponent lands on their back for an ippon.

There's multiple types of Wrestling all around the world. Typically Wrestling involves takedowns and throws where the goal is to pin your opponent to the mat.

Bjj specializes in ground fighting and submissions. The logic behind the art is that an opponent is weaker on the ground than on their feet.