Wrestling or Judo/BJJ?

Syed01

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Currently I am thinking about learning grappling as i have zero experience in groundwork/grappling skill. I see there are three options available for me. Wrestling (Greco Roman/Freestyle), Judo & BJJ. About BJJ it's the most expensive to learn with the least class available in a week (Like 2 days). Same goes for Judo expcept the money part. I have zero idea about wrestling as i've never heard or dealt with them. Which one should be better to learn among these three disciplines?

drop bear

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
No real better with those three.

You will learn different things or get different things out of them.

If you went and did one of those styles for ten years. What do you want to have achieved?

Kung Fu Wang

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Which one should be better to learn among these three disciplines?
I'll suggest wrestling for the no-jacket wrestling. The moment that you have built up a habit to use your opponent's jacket to

- pull,
- hold him back with stiff arms,

it will be very difficult to remove that habit later on. Of course the other way around may be true too. One guy has 15 years wrestling experience. He lost in his 1st jacket wrestling tournament just because he didn't know how to take advantage on the wrestling jacket.

One argument is that everybody will wear clothes. The issue is, when you grab on your opponent's shirt, you are not controlling his arms. Since your opponent's arms are free, he can do a lot of thing on you. If you control your opponent's arm instead of just grab on his shirt, that will be a much better strategy.

IMO, the wrestling

- head lock,
- bear hug,
- double over hooks,
- double under hook,
- arm wrap,

are much closer to true fighting than the jacket wrestling's

- sleeve and upper collar hold.
- sleeve and back belt hold.

If you compare

1. Not knowing how to take advantage on wrestling jacket.