• History

• Racial Affiliation

• Effectiveness

Results are only viewable after voting.
Status
Not open for further replies.
M

muayThaiPerson

hey, i was wondering why you chose to train in the style you chose.i mean what about the style you chose attracted you.

karatekid1975

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
You don't have self defense up there. When I started MA, I didn't know anything about martial arts, let alone the differences between each art. I didn't care LOL. But once I studied for a while, I learned so much. I think that TSD is a very effective "stand-up" art. I learned a lot of self defense type stuff as well as the low effective kicks mixed with the fun high fancy flying kicks that TSD is famous for.

After I moved, I didn't pick TKD by choice. It was either this school or a Mcdojang (which Rochester is full of McDojangs). I did want something similar to TSD, though.

OP
M

muayThaiPerson

that falls under the category of why u started martial arts. i wanted to know why you chose the art not why you chose to do an art.

sorry

cdhall

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Originally posted by muayThaiPerson

that falls under the category of why u started martial arts. i wanted to know why you chose the art not why you chose to do an art.

sorry

muayThaiPerson,

I think you misunderstood karatekid1975 unless I am also confused.
I wanted to start "karate" to learn self-defense.
It was blind luck that I walked into a Kenpo school, it is where my parents took me.

So my motivation was Self Defense. I picked the art at random based on where my parents took me to sign up.

Does that make sense? :confused:
:asian:

OP
K

Kenpo Wolf

I voted on effectiveness because that's what it all comes down to. BTW, what do you mean by racial affiliation or whatever you called it? What does race have to do with the martial arts? Damn, you come up with odd topics.:)

D.Cobb

2nd Black Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score