Why do students leave?

G

GouRonin

From another thread.

Just curious as to why people think that students leave where they are at and go to new schools/teachers/arts?

Cthulhu

Senior Master
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Since I trained on a U.S.A.F. base, it was because people had to leave.

Cthulhu

Cryozombie

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
WHen I was a Student of Hapkido, after 2 years, I didn't feel I was "Getting It" and after one particularly bad rank test where I felt like I didn't know the material I was being tested on, and I had to take time to think about the techniques before I executed them, I realized that if It was a fight I would have already lost.

Much to my supprise I still "earned" the belt, and I decided that Hapkido was probably not for me. So I moved on.

I would still be with my Original Bujinkan Instructor had he not moved away...

James Kovacich

Senior Master
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
My first 2 schools closed down, the 3rd, I had a monkey on my back. Later my brother-in-law, "ran me off" so to speak. Later My Sifu asked me to quit another art.

1) school financial
2) partying
3) family issues
4) Sifu did not like other arts

pesilat

3rd Black Belt
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Generally, it's because the student, for one reason or another, isn't enjoying the training or they're not getting what they're looking for (which may or may not be the same as what they claim they to be looking for in MA).

1. Money - School costs? - if someone really thinks it's worthwhile and what they want to train, then they'll find a way around this (all the worthwhile instructors I've ever met will work with students on this problem)

2. Instructors/Students - relationship problems? - the student ends up not enjoying the training because of the relationship problems.