Why did you start MA training?

Michele123

Green Belt
Reaction score
If you’ve studied a few styles or at different times in your life, the very first time you began studying martial arts, why? What was your reasoning? What did you expect to get out of it? Why are you still studying MA now? Have your reasons changed?

I’m curious about the rest of you. As for me, I started studying MA back in the early 90’s because of the influence of Karate Kid and Power Rangers (don’t laugh). I was drawn to it for several reasons, I liked the idea of working hard and getting good at something, the self-confidence. But my dreams were split. Half the time I dreamt about being a super hero, the other half I dreamt about being a stunt woman.

Now, I picked MA back up for multiple reasons. I’ll never get to be a stunt woman now (mid-thirties and mother of three) but I missed the comradeship and pushing myself to do things that were hard. I missed the physical fitness. I missed working hard to learn and achieve things. I also wanted to set an example for my kids and get them involved. Now I dream of someday being good enough to open my own MA club out of my church’s basement and teach teens and adult for free. (On really good days I still dream about being a stunt women but I know I’m too old for that).

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Ryan_

Green Belt
Reaction score
I started studying Choi Kwang Do around 2003. Also around the time I was in primary school and getting bullied, so i started that because of me getting bullied. It gave me the confidence to be able to hit back, and the bully suddenly changed school.

I left that in 2015 due to personal reasons. I recently started bujinkan ninjutsu because I missed doing MA.

_Simon_

Senior Master
Reaction score
Great topic :).

It's so hard to say for me... And YES definitely Karate Kid and Power Rangers influenced (no shame in the Power Rangers!).