Which of these two punching techniques do you prefer and why?

Zombocalypse

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Which of these two punching techniques do you prefer and why?

On this corner, we got boxing punches in general.

On the other corner, we got the “battering ram” style of punches in karate and wing chun.

Which one would you use and why?

I’m particularly fond of the standard karate punch because of this main reason: It’s better in a real brawl.

For one, it looks cool as hell. Number two, there’s less chances of injury compared to boxing punches. And lastly, I actually know how to do it. lol

Danny T

Senior Master
Reaction score
Which two punch techniques are you asking of. There are more than one punch in the wing chun I study. Though I no longer train Karate when I did there were more than one punch in the system I studied.
We have straight punches, curved punches, uppercut punches, shovel punches, and numerous variations of each. Same in boxing several different punches. So which punch technique are you asking about.

skribs

Grandmaster
Reaction score
The Taekwondo punches I use I understand to be similar to Karate punches, and I've never seen a battering ram twist like a Karate punch does.

I'm not sure how you get that there's less chance of injury with a "traditional" punch compared to a "boxing" punch. I also don't understand how "looks cool as hell" is a criteria that matters in a real brawl.

Personally, I prefer the boxing style of punches. I prefer to have my guard up.

OP
Zombocalypse

Zombocalypse

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Which two punch techniques are you asking of. There are more than one punch in the wing chun I study. Though I no longer train Karate when I did there were more than one punch in the system I studied.
We have straight punches, curved punches, uppercut punches, shovel punches, and numerous variations of each. Same in boxing several different punches. So which punch technique are you asking about.