When is a beginner no longer a beginner?

CaffeineKing

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi guys, your expert opinions please.

As some of you will know from the Meet and Greet section, I'm an academic psychologist with a keen interest in mental toughness and the benefits it can bring. I'm also keen to see how the martial arts may be able to provide long lasting benefits in this area (more on that in another thread to come). But to ascertain any changes here, I'm going to have to do one of two things:

(a) Compare "beginners" with "experts". Do scores differ? This is by far the easiest option but it's got its problems. For starters, are the experts among you mentally "tougher". Or, considering the mental and time demands of a martial art, are only the tougher ones left at the end? :)

(b) Take beginners, and monitor them over the course of months and years; do they improve mentally?

Whichever we do, here's the problem. What is a beginner? A White belt? Someone who's been training regularly for less than three months? Even worse, what's the definition an expert? My guess is that "black belt" is a variable term? Furthermore, can different martial arts possibly be compared? Does this mean than I'll have to pick just the one martial art as they can't be compared? What are people's thoughts? I've love some comments. Thanks in advance.

PS. Apologies if this is not in the right section! I'm such a newbie.

bluekey88

Senior Master
Reaction score
Hmm, I get where you're going with this (I'm in the psychology field myself). As I understand it, there aren't a LOT of deifferences between beginners and experts, but the differences are pretty big. One things that sets experts apart is not so much in breadth of knowledge (how much stuff they know) but in how they "chunk" and access the knowledge. An expert martial artist is going to have made a lot more cognitive connections about various aspects of their art that the beginner hasn't made.