What is assault?

Kittan Bachika

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I have been reading this thread and I am a little boggled by it. In a nutshell, some people were visiting a town, a town official
demanded and grabbed one of them. Then the state police were called in.

http://www.reddit.com/r/IAmA/comments/jbkir/i_visited_an_ultraorthodox_jewish_village_was/

http://youtu.be/KpZHR_s0QLw

Whether you are right or wrong it is not a good idea to mouth off to a cop.

But do government officials have the right to grab people off the street just because they deem them suspicious? Is this assault?

chinto

Senior Master
Reaction score
yes it is. it is also abuse of authority under color of law. that is a felony under tittle 18 US code.( I am not an lawyer, but have seen that kind of thing.. and asked lawyers. )
also I would say it is both conspiracy to violate civil rights... I would suggest you contact the United States attorneys office about charges.

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Terry_stop

Gee, thats funny....cops where I work, are always stopping and running the names of suspicious people. Now, theres a difference between public safety and a LEO. There is a University in the city in which I work, and their PS guys are always coming across people who dont belong on the campus, and 9 times out of 10, they call for an officer to assist in the ID process.

As I've said many times before, IMO, its better to avoid the headaches, not be a dick, and just cooperate. If you feel that you've been wrongly accused of something, complain about it later. Refusing to cooperate, starting to record things, etc, is doing nothing more than raising the tension level of an already tense situation.

Big Don

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
Qft
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/terry_stop