Too tall to do a kip-up?

Champloo

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey. I'm 6'3'' and have been trying to do a kip-up for my self-defense class. My master doesn't require it, but I think it looks good and makes the class look better. Also as an avid marital artist I want to learn as many things as I can. Anywho I always fall on my back. Any advise?

Bruno@MT

Senior Master
Reaction score
As long as your body is proportioned normally, your length is irrelevant. What matters is flexibility and technique.

I wanted to learn a handstand flip, even though it is not a mandatory part of my curriculum. It took me lots and lots of falling and aching before I finally got it. For several weeks I spent half an hour almost every day practising. I imagine that learning to do a kip up comes with the same issues. What helps is youtube. I found a good vid of a young cheerleader explaining how to do a proper handstand flip, and that helped a lot, because noone I knew could show it to me.

For a kip up, this one could be useful. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OyYCCfAK5UM&feature=related but I am sure that there will be others.
Persevere and don't let the aches dissuade you. You will get there, even though it may take time, effort and discomfort.

OP
C

Champloo

White Belt
Reaction score
Thank you! That is by far the best video I have seen that teaches how to do a kip-up! Now i'm even more motivated to learn it! Thanks a lot!

LuckyKBoxer

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Hey. I'm 6'3'' and have been trying to do a kip-up for my self-defense class. My master doesn't require it, but I think it looks good and makes the class look better. Also as an avid marital artist I want to learn as many things as I can. Anywho I always fall on my back. Any advise?

I am 6'3" and 260 atm and can do a kip up.