Tips on Matial arts training with a New born baby!

python3d

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi there
im a martial arts trainee and enthusiast... Train on a regular basis...
My wife and I are now having our first baby...

Any tips or advice how will I now be able to train or squeeze in a work out here and there...?

Training has been a big part of me since a child i don't want to leave it now..
help!

In advance thank you for your time and any advice tips that is offered.

-

mook jong man

Senior Master
Reaction score
I'd advise not to do martial arts training with a new born baby.

I find that they are far too small to hold the pads properly.

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score
1. Have an understanding wife.
2. Make sure that she gets her own time, just like you get yours.
3. Make regular classes, keep in the habit of study, do additional workouts when the kid is asleep. Admittedly in the first couple of months you will be pretty tired as well, but again, keep the habit.
4. Kids vary alot on their sleep patterns, their patterns will naturally impact yours, but depending on the kid they may be sleeping through night at 4 months (my first son) or waking up multiple times a night at 8 months (my second, right now, aaargh. :D).
5. Enjoy the time, and make time for your kid, its the most important thing you can do.

Instructor

Master of Arts
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I didn't even slow down. Heck I just brought ours to practice, still remember the little bouncy seat in the dojang.

OP
P

python3d

White Belt
Reaction score
will do
thanks for your advice
ill keep it in mind

OP
P

python3d

White Belt
Reaction score
haha that's what i was thinking, this way they will get into it quicker.. get them to start young haha
thanks

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'd advise not to do martial arts training with a new born baby.

I find that they are far too small to hold the pads properly.