Flexibility and cross training

G

girlychuks

Hello all!
baby beginner here- in kempo karate for three months now, and just started sparring. I am 25 and used to be a champion cross country runner before my knees blew out at the age of 15, then i sat around and got fat.
Now three months later and 23 pounds lighter, i have started to spar, and it KICKED my butt. I can;t believe three minutes could be so aerobic.
So IU started running 20 minutes on the days I don't have karate. Ever since I started this, stretching has become a LOT harder.
I used to be be able to do full splits (right leg in front of me) and about 4 inches from the floor ( with my left leg in front of me), and get pretty far down with full chinese splits too.
Now the whole arodeal ius painful, whcih it never was before, and I am so much les flexible,
Any tips on how to cross train and still remain flexible? I devote 10-15 minutes to stretching twice a day 9morning and night) and hole each stretch for 20 seconds.
Why am I so stiff, honorable senseis, when i was so limber before??:confused:
best regards, and thank you for your help (bows out) -Cathy

Bob Hubbard

Retired
MT Mentor
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Do you properly warm up before you run? Cool down?

Stiffness may be only temporary as your legs re-adapt to the requirments of running.

proper prep is the key to success. :)

)now, if I could take my own adice.) ;)

Cthulhu

Senior Master
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I am by no means a flexibility expert, but I would suggest making sure you do a full stretching routine after you run, since your leg muscles will be warmed up. Stretch a little before running just to loosen up a bit, but stretch for flexibility after the run.

Also, you just may be working the stretches too much. The muscles need time to heal. Maybe try reducing the amount of stretching to twice a day every other day, or just once a day.

Cthulhu

OP
R

Rubber Ducky