The spiritual side?

Vertical Fist

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello all! I’ve been training on and off for about 10 years in a system that is a combination of various arts, and is trained as a RBSD. It’s a blended system that include Western Boxing, Muay Thai, Jeet Kune Do, Kali, Sambo, San Da. We’ve trained very realistically, against resistance, multiple attackers, weapons, indoor/outdoor training as well.

Lately, I’ve been wanting more than just the physical side of martial arts. The RBSD is brutal and effective, but just isn’t giving me the spiritual side. So, I’ve been thinking about going out and starting a traditional martial art. My question is, given my background in RBSD, how hard would it be to pick up a traditional martial art, given the different training approaches/philosophies? I just have a feeling that I’ll be lost between them.

Any thoughts?

BloodMoney

Green Belt
Reaction score
One of the reasons I enjoy Wing Chun so much is because its a balance between a spiritual, chi gathering art like Tai Chi and a brutal street art like Krav Maga. I guess it depends where and who you train with, but personally I think Chun balances the two well. Then the rest is up to you how much of either you get out of it (ie: doing the form everyday really slowly, or just concentrating on the mechanics of chain punching etc)

Omar B

Senior Master
Reaction score
How hard? as hard as going to the class and signing up. Really, there's nothing standing in your way but procrastination. You are after all starting a beginner, they don't expect you to know their system starting out.

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score