• I am an instructor and train independently

• Other (please describe in post)

Results are only viewable after voting.

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Do you learn from yourself teaching? Do you find things that you had missed before? Its a little different than just learning from an instructor.

Yes to both! :) When you're teaching, it really makes you look at the material. You have to break it down for the newer students, so it forces you to really take a different look at it. In addition, there have been many times when a student asks questions. As I said above, it really forces you to take a more in-depth look at the material.

Mike

jdinca

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I'm an instructor but I also have a weekly lesson with my teacher, in additon to instructor workouts that are run by our GM and Master.

Don't know that I would want a teacher who thought they had nothing left to learn about the subject.

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I'm just a student. I only teach by exasperating those that try to teach me :D

Trent

Green Belt
Reaction score
I'm both, all of the time, but in different ways. When training with my instructors I am a student of their lesson; however, I am also instructing my mind and body on how to absorb and work the material. When instructing my students, I am learning how to understand and communicate the material on many levels. There are different levels of overlap from those as well.

jdinca

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Here is a new twist to this. As anyone thought of themselves as a student while being a teacher. If teaching someone else is supposed to teach you also wouldn't you be a student also?