• I am an instructor and train with my own instructor rarely

• I am an instructor and train independently

• Other (please describe in post)

Results are only viewable after voting.

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I'm curious about peoples' perception of instructing and learning - thus this poll. Commentary is also requested - how do you define instructing? Assisting? What is the difference between an assistant instructor who teaches independently and an instructor? Are there rank requirements in your organization for instructing, and does that impact whether you are an assistant or a full instructor, regardless of your duties?

exile

To him unconquered.
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I am a student, and regularly help teach lower-ranked students—that's me!

Rich Parsons

A Student of Martial Arts
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I voted Other.

I know. You did a nice job of covering the possibilities. :)

I consider myself a student.
I do teach class Idependently.
I even teach Seminars.

Yet, I also train with my Peers and also continue to learn from my students, in how the move and or ask questions.

I did have an isntructor I would train weekly with up until Decemeber of 2005. He had a stroke and then had another one that has left him very weak on the left side and we do not train. I still see him as often as I can, but if I am close to being sick or sick I do not stop by for his health. I ask him questions from time to time, and enjoy his company.

exile

To him unconquered.
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Then why'd your vote show up as "other"?

Actually, I didn't register a vote, I just realized. I kind of blanked on the poll part, and just copied and pasted in that line of text. I suppose the way it's set up, it defaulted to `Other'... I'll go back and do it right this time—sorry!

Tames D

RECKLESS
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I voted Other.

I know. You did a nice job of covering the possibilities. :)