Stretching - how much can you get back? good program?

survivalist

White Belt
Reaction score
Last time I studied Martial Arts was about 10 years ago. Since then I have not done anything that required any significant flexibility. I'm getting back into MA.

I'm in my 40s and am wondering how much flexibility I can get back. Not that I was ever super-limber - I couldn't do the splits or anything.

I can still touch my toes. I can't get very deep in side splits.

I don't expect to be an olympic gymnast but I'm wondering how much one can recover?

Also, does anyone have a good program/book/video/series on stretching to recommend? I know basic stretches - generally I do long (well, 30-40 second) stretches of all the major body parts. But a structured guide might be helpful.

Thanks!

yak sao

Senior Master
Reaction score
Most people train for flexibility by doing static stretching, ie. trying to touch their chest to their leg while sitting on the floor, or any type of variation of that. The problem with that type of stretching is it doesn't mimic the movement that you are stretching for, namely kicking.

To remedy this you should practice dynamic stretching.

First exercise: swing straight leg to the front as high as you can. Hold your outstretched arms out in front for a target.

Second exercise : swing your leg out to the side stretching the inner thigh, again having your outstretched arm held out for a target.

Third exercise : looking over your right shoulder swing your right leg to the rear as high as you can, torso will be inclined forward on this stretch. (And then repeat for left side)