Spear Hand

jacktnicol

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Last night I was at a weekly training session that I have with masters that graduated from the same university as me. Last night we were putting together a demo that they are helping me put on at my dojang at the end of next month. The most senior member is the one planning and he told me (i live in korea and go to tkd university so you don't really agrue with someone who graduated before you) that I would be doing a spear hand break through 5 boards which I have never done before.

So what I was wonder if besides the genetric training methods (finger push ups, surface striking etc.) if anybody has any methods of training for the break that I may not of heard about

Thanks for any help

JT

K31

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Last night I was at a weekly training session that I have with masters that graduated from the same university as me. Last night we were putting together a demo that they are helping me put on at my dojang at the end of next month. The most senior member is the one planning and he told me (i live in korea and go to tkd university so you don't really agrue with someone who graduated before you) that I would be doing a spear hand break through 5 boards which I have never done before.

So what I was wonder if besides the genetric training methods (finger push ups, surface striking etc.) if anybody has any methods of training for the break that I may not of heard about

Thanks for any help

JT

I've heard of thrusting your hands into a bucket of dried beans. I've never done it personally but know a co-worker who has.I'm not sure if you have enough time for that to be effective but I thought I'd mention it.

Earl Weiss

Senior Master
Reaction score
FWIW I would really like to check out the boards of anyone who claims to do 5 with a spearhand / fingertip break.

I have seen some breaks at demos and they are definitely NOT regular 1"x #2 pine like you get at the home center.

NPTKD

Brown Belt