Getting back in the game?

~shinigami~

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie on these forums.

Here's a little background: I started TKD when I was about 12 and reached 1st Dan when I was 16. After achieving my black belt, I vowed not to be one of those people who quite after getting it. Alas, I became a hypocrite. Many factors led to me stopping TKD. Probably the biggest one is that I entered into the final years of High School and as my goal was to enter dental school, I had to work my butt off so I took a break from TKD. Another reason was that my training buddy who was the same level as me moved away. We always pushed each other hard during sparring, it was an intense rivalry, although we were best friends off the sparring mat. Money was also a problem then. After a bit of a break, I came back but everything seemed off for me. I wasn't able to execute kicks as I used to, I was disheartened and with the added stress of school exams, I quit. Intending to come back after I graduated High School.

The present and the problem: Well here I am, graduated High School and about to head into the first year of university. I recently found my dan certificate and checked the kukkiwon database for my name for fun. It was there and now I feel like going back. If I can put humility aside, I was quite good and very fast regarding my kicks back when I was training but here's the problem. I am now fatter and less fit than before. I can't seem to jump as high nor am I even remotely flexible. Also, I'll be moving interstate so I can't go back to my old dojang.

I apologise in advance for this long spiel and I would appreciate it so much if anyone can give me any advice. Should I train to lose some weight and gain flexibility before going to a new dojang or just bite the bullet and start? If it's the former, do you have any suggestions as to how I can lose weight and gain my flexibility again?

Once again, I'm sorry for the long rant.

igillman

Purple Belt