Self defense against a knife

johnjones33

White Belt
Reaction score
What is your opinion on teaching unarmed self defense against a knife? do you think to do so without informing students of the risks involved is negligent? the reason i ask is i have had people come on my seminars who seem to think that it is easy to disarm someone with a knife without getting injured and are actually hoping to be confronted by an assailant with a knife so they can demonstrate their amazing techniques.

i pray this never happens for their sake.

i am a reality self defense instructor and teach knife disarming techniques, although if i were faced with a non-life threatening situation (eg mugging/ hold-up) and all i needed to do was hand over a wallet to avoid an altercation with someone armed with a knife then that is what i would do. i wouldn't want to take on anyone armed with a knife unless i was fighting for my life or for that of a loved one. A knife is an amazing leveller which is why they are the weapon of choice for cowards who would be vulnerable without one and an untrained individual can kill the most highly trained expert with one.

many people that have learned self defense against a knife in my experience have a dangerously over-inflated opinion of their abilities to disarm an opponent. thoughts?

MA-Caver

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
This topic has been covered before and basically the end of it all was... you're likely going to get cut.
The thing is to either avoid getting cut by running away if possible or minimizing the damage as much as possible. Arming yourself with whatever is available at hand, 2X4, broken bottle, stout stick, whatever! ANYTHING to put a barrier between you and the business end of that blade. Going hand to knife... there's going to be blood and pain and damage to YOU no matter what. Never mind what the movies show it's all choreographed and a very dull blade that just looks sharp. The wonders of hollywood.