Question for the LEO's

Drac

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
It's not at all uncommon for someone to feel fine at the scene of a crash, and then decide later to go to the doctor/hospital. to go "get checked..

Yep, it happened to me..Some Yuppie in his brand new Beemer slammed into my cruiser attempting to make a lane change...After I stopped I called in that I had been involved in and MVA and got out of my vehicle..I took about 3 steps and crumpled in pain..

Last Fearner

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
My thoughts are that a ticket should have been issued. It has been a number of years since I worked in Law Enforcement, but the Motor Vehicle Code in Michigan (and I imagine most states) provides for citations for just about anything. Officers have the power of discretion, but if someone is stopped for suspicion of DWI because they were weaving and crossed the center line, yet it turns out they were not drunk, they still might get a ticket. If they are disrespectful or uncooperative, the officer might decide to cite them for careless driving.

In the event of a crash, careless or reckless is appropriate. Simply failing to have your vehicle under control, or many other reasons as stated by other officers here. Excuses like, "the sun was in my eyes" doesn't cut it with me. If you can't see clearly, then you should slow down. What if it was a child that ran in front of your car? Are excuses going to bring the child back to life? You are responsible for the safe control of your vehicle. If you rear-end someone, you deserve a ticket unless it was beyond your control.