Qualities of your worst teacher?

F

foggymorning162

buggirl2 started a great thread about the qualities of your best teacher. I think a lot of teachers can learn about what holds students by reading this, but I also think they can learn from what others have done wrong.

The worst MA teachers I've had are those who make it all about themselves they talk entirely too much and or refuse to come into the present. Also teachers who do the same drill for an entire class I know MA are repedative but the same kick up and down the floor for an entire hour is overkill.

theletch1

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I gave the answer to this question if Girlbug's thread but I'll toss it in here as well.

EGO!!! The instructors that think they are better human beings than I am simply because they have a skill that I don't.

JBrainard

Senior Master
Reaction score
When I first started martial arts I joined a bastardized Wing Chun belt factory. Hey, I was a newb, what did I know?
Anyway, my instructor was great (probably because he had a black belt in another, legitimate, martial art), but the head of the school was terrible. When you belt tested you tested in front of her, not your instructor. I swear, I could have danced a jig and got a belt from her. Just terrible.

clfsean

Senior Master
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Arrogance... down the nose attitude (didn't help he was 6'4")... God complex... only stayed about 3 months I think

phlaw

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Extreme Cockiness! I think all he cared about was tournaments and winning. He use to have students spar with no protective gear. If you didn't go to tournaments he did not care about you.

IcemanSK

El Conquistador nim!
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Liars. Misrepresented rank in one Art & never trained in another in which he claimed a 6th Dan!

JadecloudAlchemist

Master of Arts
Reaction score
The worse teachers I have met usually would scream at me.

Or would not explain the technique.