Qualified instruction

S

SingingTiger

I've been following the conversation in the "Interesting Quotes..." thread. I thought I'd start a new thread specifically devoted to the concepts of qualified instruction and instructors that were raised there.

I'm a fairly new student, having started studying Kenpo about a year ago (at a school that's definitely not a "two year black belt" school; although I've progressed rapidly so far, I see a black belt as being at least three or four years away), and a very new poster to this board. I'd like to humbly add my perspective to the discussion.

My school is fairly small, and I think there are only two or three 3rd dan black belts (the sensei is 7th dan). It would be difficult for all private instruction and all group classes to be run by those few individuals. While I don't think that alone is enough of a reason to "lower" teaching standards, I also have seen nothing wrong with the instruction offered by 1st and 2nd dan black belts, or even by lower ranks.

My own private instructor is a 2nd degree brown belt. I feel I've learned a great deal from him, and that there's a great deal more I can learn from him.

The Saturday morning beginning group class is being taught by a red belt who was a green belt when I first started studying. I've also learned a lot from him. There have been a few times when a question has been raised that he couldn't answer, so he referred the question to the sensei. Would it have been better at the time if he could have answered the question? Sure. But everyone in the class knows his rank and nobody had a problem with his inability to answer the question. We didn't feel as though we were being shortchanged in what he was teaching us, or that what he had taught us so far was invalidated.