Pressured to test

Anuka

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
My Sifu and dishing are pressuring me to do a test on the wooden dummy form, it would require me to perform the form 108 times in a row. The problem is, I have zero interest in doing this wooden dummy test. I am the last one of my skill level to take it, in fact, a couple of people who have been at school for significantly less time have taken it recently, and as a result, I get bugged about it every class.("When are you gonna schedule your test?") It took everyone about 5 or 6 hours to complete it, and they wrecked their arms pretty good. I work in construction, and I am worried about it affecting my performance at work. Over all, it doesn't feel worth the certificate I'll receive for doing it.

Have any of you been pressured into taking a test when you didn't want to? How did you handle the situation?

oaktree

Master of Arts
Reaction score
I would tell the teacher that you are not interested in doing the form for the risk for your job. I would be polite and respectful.
I would thank the teacher for the honor and privilege to be recommended to test for the form but bow out due to circumstances.

If the teacher persist after or causes you to feel uncomfortable then perhaps time to go to another school. Training should be something you want to do and not something that is a burden or causes you problems

jobo

Grandmaster
Reaction score