"Original" EPAK techniques?

MSalinas

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi everyone, as you can see I'm a noob to the forum. I have been studying martial arts for over 14 years but never trained in American Kenpo. I have read some of Ed Parker's books in the Infinite Insights series, some written by Lee Wedlake, and have watched quite a few kenpo videos. So, I have only a rudimentary understanding of it, but want to delve a little deeper.

My reason for this particular post is, I would like to find out which American Kenpo techniques are closest to what Ed Parker taught in the "pre-commercialization" days, if you will. As I understand from reading various sources, American Kenpo underwent quite a few changes as Mr. Parker refined them (adding, changing, removing, etc). And it eventually evolved into the 24 technique system until his death. So, out of the 24 technique system as it existed at the time of his passing, which techniques were most representative of the early system that Mr. Parker taught, before all the changes?

I apologize if this has been asked...I did the usual search but could not find out a lot in terms of forum replies. I did find a few things that have kind of helped my inquiry, but want to get opinions from you more experienced Kenpo practitioners. For example, Tim Bulot believes that the Brown Belt techniques represent the "heart" of American Kenpo. I read and watched some interviews with a few Kenpo exponents who say the stuff taught by Chuck Sullivan in the Karate Connection syllabus is the closest. And the Tracy brothers seem to think that what they teach in their system is "true kenpo".

I guess what I am trying to ask is, if a noob like me comes to American Kenpo and sees all the techniques and wonders, "which of those techniques is closest to what people learned in the early classes taught by Mr. Parker?". I think, not every technique that ended up in the 24 technique system was there in the beginning, correct?

Looking forward to some replies.