Old Guy Starts to Get It - Sparring Success Using the Basics

Rumy73

Black Belt
Reaction score
Greetings! I am new to Olympic style and been having trouble when sparring. I decided to focus on basics the past few weeks. I'm old, slow, and slow learner... But I am determined! Last night I had some nice success sparring. I used counter roundhouse kicks and block/punch primarily. For good measure, I threw a back kick (it missed) and a side kick (it scored) during the match. I was able to thwart the other player's attacks and make good contact.

In order to help me grow, at home I have been doing foot work where practice reversing my feet quickly to set up a roundhouse kick counter. Also I have been working on block/punch defense (which I get blocking with same side as the leading foot and punching with the other hand. However, when the situation calls for blocking with the back hand side and punching with the front I get a bit tangled up). In addition, I've been jumping rope; working out wearing ankle weights; practicing raising my kicking leg in order to strengthen the chamber. I am thinking to keep drilling this stuff until it is second nature. Then pick more advanced techniques, doing the same.

Maybe my skills are just boring meat and potatoes but it seems to be working a bit for this old guy. However, I would like to have some more chain attacks. Suggestions on developing basic combinations? Right now, I cannot spin super fast, so please keep that in mind. Thanks!

StudentCarl

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
Good to know you're finding success. Keep at it. Your focus on the basic kicks, good technique and conditioning are exactly right. The key to combinations is your posture, balance and recovery. The more you improve these the easier to add one kick onto another effectively.

ATC

Senior Master
Reaction score