Pads in Sparring

FearlessFreep

Senior Master
Reaction score
Some background, I'm 35 yrs old and just getting into sparring the last month and a half or so, so I'm still very new at it. I'm still not sparring at full speed/strength and most of us in the class are still green belts and below so we're still gettinga our feet wet.

Now, when I first started, I wore a hogu but nothing else. This didn't bother me and some early techniques I learned I sorta realized would not work in a more full power approach. For example, I got used to blocking a roundhouse with a downblock and coming back with a quick erverse punch if the kick left them open. However, I quickly figured out that if we were going full power that just blocking like that would be painful, so I resolved to improve my footwork for evasions and better counter-strikes.

However, I've been sparring against this guy more recently and regularly. A green belt, mid 40s, about 6'3". He insists on me wearing the shin and arm pads when sparring him as he doesn't want to get himself hurt hitting me. I actually think I don't like this; we're still being told to use 'light contact' so we're not blasting into each other as it is. At light-contact, with armor (so to speak) it's too easy and too tempting to just absorb and brush off the attacks and I think I'm falling into bad habits that could hurt me later on. I'd almost rather not use pads and take the pain and use it as an educational thing ('if it hurts to do it, next time do something else') So I think at the light-contact level of still just practicing, it' be better off not using shin and arm guards.

Do I have a point?