No idea where to start by a total newb

Onyx02

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello all!
I finally had a glimpse of motivation today to finally start learning martial arts.
The problem is that I have NO idea where to start. The only thing I know is that I am really interested in Shaolin Kung-fu but I'll be glad if you recommend me some other easy-to-master begginer martial arts too.
Could someone help me with some guides or routine just whatever to help me getting started?
Thank you all so much for your help.

drop bear

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
Wrestling is the building blocks of fighting. Any martial arts you do with a wrestling background you will be better at.

Headhunter

Senior Master
Reaction score
Well right now you just have to sit tight and wait for this BS to get lost but in the meantime work on your fitness and your strength and research styles that might be of Interest to you. Don't listen to the comments of this is better, no that's better, this is the best, that style is rubbish etc. That's all just people's ego trying to big up their own style. Just choose one that's both affordable, convinient and you have some interest in. Then once this rubbish is over and clubs are open again then get just jump in and go from there

ShortBridge

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
And, it really matters what is available to you. I remember being in your position and not wanting that to be true, but in the end it's going to come down to you training in a group with a good teacher and you can only chose from the things available near you. So, I'd start by either letting us know what town you're from, so that we can recommend things that we know of there or spend the weekend searching on-line and locating teachers and studios open within a reasonable drive for you and then let us know what you have to choose from.