New Student Walking In, Striking Too Hard, Follow Up Question

Stargazer

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
As a student, I'm curious what the appropriate response should be when a new student walks in and is clearly either using too much force or out of control?

I've had this happen once and chose not to dignify it. I thought the instructor would step in and correct the new student. This happened later, but the new student was emboldened and began roughing up other students in the meantime.

Should a long-standing student ignore it, report it, or fight back? Or is this the teacher's domain? What is the teacher's duty here?

GaryR

Green Belt
Reaction score
Report it first. The teacher can't do anything if they are not aware of it. They should let the new student know it is not acceptable to exceed the standard of force set in the session.

The teacher has a duty to keep the training environment safe.

Protect yourself, and give the appropriate physical and/or verbal feedback to the new student as required.

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
It depends on what level you are in the class. A senior student (mid to high green, or brown belts in my club) would be expected to be able to handle it, and to steer the new student to a more appropriate level of force. You do that in different ways, such as matching their force, or simply not letting anything land until they "play by the rules." A less senior student should probably make a comment ("Yo, dude... this is a LIGHT contact exercise") then get a senior student or the instructor to help if they aren't coming on track. Generally, I rotate partners enough that the guy going too hard will wind up with a senior student and get corrected -- or I'll step in and correct it myself.