New Forum Idea

Bobby135

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

This one goes out to Bob and the other almighty's that run the Universe that is Martial Talk. I wanted to get some thoughts on developing a new forum for people such as bouncers, security staff etc. I bet there are a fair amount of people on this site that work second jobs of that nature. Thoughts anyone????

Thanks
Bobby

kailat

Green Belt
Reaction score
Sounds like a winner.. I work in Law Enforcement and Security for my 2nd job. I'd love to swap stories, control stuff etc..

exile

To him unconquered.
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Cool idea—wish I'd thought of it! :)

As Geoff Thompson, experienced karateka, dojo instructor, and legendary `hard man' bouncer/club bouncer/security manager makes clear in his book The Pavement Arena, there is absolutely nothing like the world of professional unarmed no-rules combat to throw the technical content of the TMAs into sharp relief. GT emphasizes in his books, repeatedly, that the TMAs are peerless skill sets for the kind of professionals the proposed forum would focus on, but that these skills have to be both focused and trained for just those purposes to be fully effective. We have a number of people on the board who've worked in this field and it would be great to have a place where their particular kind of insight was given the full focus of attention.

Guardian

Black Belt
Reaction score
Isn't General Self-Defense the same thing, we have that here. You have a General Martial Arts and then this section, what good would another forum do except split up the posts to too many different forums, thus negating the conversations that take place all around.

That's just my view on it.

Brian R. VanCise

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
I am all for a more specialized forum and feel that we have more than enough people in that area to warrant one.
icon14.gif

Drac

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score