New at Aiki-Jutsu

DocWard

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I decided I would put this in the Beginners Corner since I am a beginner at Aiki-Jutsu. I hold a brown belt in Kenpo, but haven't truly worked in the art in quite a long time. I won't go into great detail as to how I got involved, since it isn't really relevant, but long story short, my oldest daughter wants to give it a try and talked my into joining her.

I plan on asking my Sensei some of the following as soon as I get the chance, but I thought I would also run some of these questions past the crowd here, since there appears to be some pretty knowledgeable martial artists.

What is the difference, if any between "Aiki-Jutsu" and "Aiki-Jujutsu?" Is it simply two names for the same thing? I have done a search here and on Google without coming up with anything real definitive. I'm not saying it isn't there, I just didn't find anything.

If there is a difference, what is it?

I understand that the art is more "aggressive" for lack of a better word, than Aikido. Is it something that works well for self-defense?

And, finally, if I start trying to knock some of the rust off of my Kenpo skills, will the two arts compliment each other, or conflict with one another? My first class was challenging because of my habit of falling back into a fighting stance as opposed to keeping squared up with my center facing front.

Thanks in advance.

Cirdan

Senior Master
Reaction score
"Jutsu" means art or sience, like "do" (way) it is a common part of names of Japanese arts. Many seem to think that arts with "jutsu" are harder or as you say more aggressive than arts with "do" in the name, but this is not neccecarily true.
Jujutsu (alternatively spelled Jujitsu, jiujutsu etc) is a specific but very diverse art where "the "ju" part stands for soft or yielding.
Aiki-jutsu is a specific art related to Jujutsu and Aikido.
I haven`t heard about Aiki-jujutsu so I can`t comment on it.