Need fellow Taekwondo artist tips for taking a test

tkdgirl

White Belt
Reaction score
Good Morning Everyone,

I am in Taekwondo Chung Do Kwon and I am testing for my brown stripe tonight. I get so nervous about testing. I do practice technique and forms at home and train on days I am not at the dojo. I run at the track, I run stairs, pilates etc. And I still seem to run out of breathe during test night spar after spar really wears me out. I hate getting out of breathe. I am an older student I am 41 woman. Is it my age? I feel I can work out better than most 20 year olds I know. Does anyone have any tips or workouts I can start doing? Any help/advice would be getting appreciated. thanks!

andyjeffries

Senior Master
Reaction score
Hi tkdgirl,

There's another thread on this topic with lots of helpful advice. My post in particular in that topic is here. The advice sounds definitely valid to your situation. Breathing is VERY important and during a test it's even less likely you'll be focussed on breathing as you're likely to be going through a lot more mental processing of what you're doing, demonstrating your techniques well and, dare I say it, mentally replaying any mistakes you made earlier in the test or things you feel you could have done better.

The nerves won't help with your breathing, so as a general tip - just remember most instructors won't let you test if you aren't ready. Give it your best go and you'll be fine. If there are others of the same grade (within the club as a whole, not just your rank) not testing then this is a good sign that it's not a "test everyone, pass those good enough" scenario.

Good luck for your test, post back and let us know how it goes!

ETinCYQX

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Good Morning Everyone,