Need advice how I should practice self defense with a cane

Alan0354

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Hi

I have a thread in General MA discussion on this, but I think this is a much better place to ask for advice.

I just started practicing stick fighting with a cane because of all the older Asians are being attacked on the street. I only started practicing a little over 4 months ago. I started mostly with single hand escrima style, but I soon evolved to using two hands swinging like the Katana because I can hit harder. Here are two videos I recorded two or three weeks ago. I want you experts to comment what should I work on next, what I should improve.

Like I said, I am not aiming to go on competition or be an expert, just self defense to protect myself and my wife. I am 68, so it looks normal to carry a cane. I am using the United Cutlery Night Watchman cane, it's 19oz after cutting to the right length.

I was advice not to hit with the head and handle like punching jab and reverse punch as people likely going to grab the cane if I hold it in front of them. Just concentrate on poking.

Since the video, I practice a lot more in hitting the knee and legs as it's harder to grab the cane when I hit low.

Any advice, critique, suggestion are welcome

Thanks

Alan

Tony Dismukes

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Okay, it looks like you've settled on 3 basic techniques: a 2-handed thrust, a 2-handed swing, and holding in the middle to hit with either end. I'll offer you one suggestion to help refine each movement.

• For the two handed thrust, you are letting the stick drift out sideways from your body a bit. This costs you some power and makes it easier for your opponent to block your arms, grapple, or hit your arms if they are carrying a weapon of their own. Try keeping your elbows and your stick in tight to your body and only extend them forward from your body to thrust.