Length of Time Training=Not an Accurate Gauge of Skill

wingchun100

Senior Master
Reaction score
I remember when I was young, hearing someone had a black belt was a real "WOW' type of moment. It meant dedication, hard work, sacrifice...and that the person could wipe the floor with you. With the rise of McDojos, it doesn't seem to mean as much anymore (from what I have seen).

But there is another indicator of skill that can mean just as little: the length of time spent training.

To show you my lack of ego, I will say that I am a prime example of this LOL. I have been a student at my wing chun school since 1995. I was really super dedicate for the first two years. Then life got in the way: my work load at school got too heavy to go...when I got out of college, it was time to search for a job...even when I had one, I fell into some unexplained funk where, when I was driving to class, I felt like I was driving to work, so my passion was gone...I moved away from the area and couldn't find a new school...so on and so forth.

Anyway, when a new student asks me how long I have been training, they are blown away when I say 1995. "wow man, almost 20 years!" And I say, "Yes, but here I am...still a student like you instead of running my own school."

Then again, even if I had been consistently going, that would be no guarantee I had any skill anyway. I mean, I have seen people come to class and then stand around talking most of the time. (I don't understand paying all that money toward tuition and then doing that, but hey...to each their own.)

At any rate, this was just a random topic that crossed my mind this morning.

Tony Dismukes

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score