L.A. Sheriff Memo Circulating

Ants

White Belt
Reaction score
I'm sorry,

I'm a cop in New Zealand and at no point would any instructor of the Police recommend any form of unarmed engagement of an attacker with a knife, bat, paper clip or just nutting off other than to talk to the person in a calming manner while calling for any available unit to back them up.

At the very least in New Zealand the sequence is likely to follow: Voice appeal (just talking to them to find out their motivation/intention, Telling them that if the do not comply with instructions they will be sprayed (O/C spray and probably baton until the individual is restrained by cuffs and another officer has them secured), if that does not work I imagine most cops over here would back off while keeping the individual in sight until a dog handler and armed unit were able to arrive. If it was not able to be resolved using a Tactical options Model then any cop over here would hopefully be spraying the individual with a knife and then using their baton.

But the origianl post does raise one good point that I have always taken to 'real life violence' and that is 'If you play by rules in a fight (i.e. waitingfor their correct attack so that you can apply the counter while standing in a good fighting stance.) you are going to get your backside kicked.

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
The article referrs to martial artists as deluded fools in their own reality.

The article also make cops look like plagiarizing crybabies boo hooing over (gasp) keeping their skills current.

Shame, because there are a lot of martial artists that are a lot better than that. There are a lot of police officers that are better than that.

This does no justice to either.

Kembudo-Kai Kempoka

Senior Master
Reaction score
upnorthkyosa said: