Is there a such thing as too much Kenpo?

Lil Tenzan

White Belt
Reaction score
Excuse me if I seem like a noob. I just joined the forum. I was just wondering am I studying Kenpo too much. First I studied Parker's American Kenpo, then I have studied White Tiger Kenpo, and now im thinking about studying Villari's Shaolin Kenpo. Do you guys think it's time for a change or what?

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Excuse me if I seem like a noob. I just joined the forum. I was just wondering am I studying Kenpo too much. First I studied Parker's American Kenpo, then I have studied White Tiger Kenpo, and now im thinking about studying Villari's Shaolin Kenpo. Do you guys think it's time for a change or what?
I'm thinking its time you tried Kicknastics.:)
Sean

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score

You don't say how long you've studied each one. Was there are particular reason you jumped from one to the next?

Mike

Sapper6

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score

i think you've already done that yourself. although EPAK, white tiger, and villari's are all Kenpo systems, they are each different kenpo systems. there are different things to learn from each. however, your goal should be to become as proficient as possible in each before moving on to another. just how long did you study each system?

the main reason students look for other systems to study is because they feel their primary system is lacking of something else they desire. is this the case? to say, "i've studied 3 systems of Kenpo, should i move on?" is not going to generate an honest response. you're likely to be welcomed with more questions than answers.

personally, i would rather master ONE system, than be half-*** in several.

good luck in your search.

OP
L

Lil Tenzan

White Belt
Reaction score