Alemany's Kenpo

B

blkbltkt

I was wondering if anyone out there does American Shaolin Kenpo as handed down by Grandmaster Rick Alemany of San Francisco, CA. I have been studying this art for almost 9 years and I don't think many people other than those in the Bay area study it. I would love to hear from you if you do!
Katy

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hello and welcome to Martial Talk. I hope someone here knows a bit about your question. I love your AVATAR :asian:
Sean

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum.
I am not familar with your system or your instructor, could you give us a little background in both?
I would be intrested in how closely the system relates to the other Shaolin Kenpo sytemes, if you know?
Just looking for information.
Again welcome and we look forward to your posts

OP
B

blkbltkt

First of all, thanks so much for the nice welcome!

Grandmaster Rick Alemany received his Black Belt in 1967 from Great Grandmaster Ralph Castro in Daly City, CA. He went on to open his own school. I believe Grandmaster Alemany has made some adjustments and changes to some of the katas, etc., but the style we do is, for the most part, the same as Great Grandmaster Castro has taught. I have never had the honor and opportunity to visit the Castro school yet, but I am looking forward to doing that one day soon!
Katy :asian:

Pacificshore

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Hi Katy:

Welcome aboard as well :asian: .

I attended the first Gathering of Eagles in Las Vegas back in 96, I think it was, and attended one of the Shaolin Kenpo seminars put on by now GM Rob Castro. I believe your teacher was in attendance at the time. I at the time was studying Chinese Kenpo, but have since transitioned over to the Kara-Ho Kempo system.