how white is your black belt??

D

Deathtrap101

Well i was just wondering about each of your schools, what is the average amount of time it takes to get your black belt,2nd black belt,ect.... ANd if you hold one how long it took you to get it and how long have you had it??

In my style and everyone ive talked to in my style who holds a black belt it took them 7 years. I hold a yellow belt :D, which my first sensei tends to give out rather quickly and then it takes about another year to get your orange(or so ive bin told).

OP
W

Wertle

I'm getting ready to test for Shodan and I've been training for about 5 years. I think some of it depends on what a black belt "means" in different systems, whether it's the end-all goal or whether it just means you've become a serious student. That might have something to do with the lengths of time involved, but I'm sure there are other factors.

KennethKu

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
Originally posted by Deathtrap101

... In my style and everyone ive talked to in my style who holds a black belt it took them 7 years. .....

LOL You got screwed. I just looked at a website where they have instructors who are 17, 20 yrs old, but with BLack Belt 3rd dan and 4th dan in TKD AND Hapkido!! :rolleyes: What's wrong with that picture?

OP
S

Shinzu

with the association i am involved with it usually takes around 3 years or so. that is if you meet the requirements and attend class on a regular basis.

my instructors will approach you when they feel you are ready. they do not "give away" black belts simply beacuse you are there for a certain ammount of time. you must be dedicated and prove that you deserve to wear it.

the average amount of time from 1st to 2nd is a 2 year wait. 2nd to 3rd is a 3 year wait and so on. but like i said, it all depends on the instructors approval.

Klondike93

Master Black Belt
Reaction score