How Many Kata am I or are You Doing?

Kosho Gakkusei

Blue Belt
Reaction score
When considering how many Kata you practice, do you look at differing levels ie. Shodan, Nidan as portions of the same Kata or as a Kata in themselves?

I usually tell people that I practice almost 30 Kata (29 to be precise) but that's with counting Shodans, Nidans, -Shos, & Dais, etc. If I look at them as segments of the same Kata then it's really 12.

I guess for the purpose of learning the Kata for me it was learning 29 different forms. But what I'm actually studying is 12 unique Kata.

What are some of your thoughts on the matter?

_Don Flatt

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I have over 40 that I know but I have to admit to practicing only about half that number on any regular bases

Kennedy_Shogen_Ryu

Blue Belt
Reaction score
There are a lot of stories, especially with old Okinawan instructors, that they would only learn 3-4 forms sometimes spending 3-4 years per form before being allowed to move on. They didn't just learn the form they practiced until they understood the form. I think that today there isn't as much (not saying none) emphasis on understanding forms. But then this can come to the argument that some people say there are all these hidden techniques in Kata and those that say they are all very straight forward. I think that there are more to most Katas then some people see, therefore I don't think it's the number of forms you know it's whether or not you understand what they are and why you practice them.

ppko

Master Black Belt
Reaction score