How long should you hold a choke so as not to kill?

Kenlee25

Green Belt
Reaction score
I'm no expert on grappling arts, but I do know how to apply a good rear naked or front guillotine choke. What I don't know is the time difference between simply "putting someone to sleep" or actually killing them.

Now I am NOT implying that I am planning on using this move on someone any time soon, but in a self defense situation it could come in handy, and since I know how to apply one, it is best that I know the proper safety precautions.

Haakon

Blue Belt
Reaction score
The Gracies say they teach their students no more than 10 seconds. After that point either they're out, or you don't have the choke on right and need to move to something else. There was a recent story where a teenager killed his cousin holding the choke for about 40 seconds. Chokes need to be applied for a much shorter time than most people would think.

frank raud

Master of Arts
Reaction score
I'm no expert on grappling arts, but I do know how to apply a good rear naked or front guillotine choke. What I don't know is the time difference between simply "putting someone to sleep" or actually killing them.

Now I am NOT implying that I am planning on using this move on someone any time soon, but in a self defense situation it could come in handy, and since I know how to apply one, it is best that I know the proper safety precautions.

I dont think that can be answered with any certainty. I doubt you take into account all the variables. Rear naked choke being predominantly a blood choke and a front guillotine being mainy an air choke also make a difference. I would suggest paying attention to what the other person is doing, more than how long you have held the choke. If they have stopped resisting and slipped into unconciness, release the choke. Holding it any longer may have long term consequences, both for the person being choked out and yourself.

seasoned

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member