HELP with martial arts insurance

Master Stallion

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I grew up learning martial arts with a very traditional Grand Master that taught outside year round. None of us ever thought much about liability insurance because none of us would have ever sued him and he didn't have anything we could take anyway. Now, years later I have been teaching and I have the opportunity to move indoors. Unfortunately, this means that "it" is no longer a few guys working out in a backyard or the park but now its "class". I have to consider insurance and although I have knowledge of the law, I have no experience specifically with insurance...especially related to martial arts. Any suggestions or Ideas what it should cost or how to go about this? I know each state has their own laws/statues and I am in RI, but any direction would be helpful.
Graciously,
Sifu Vin

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
If you Google "Martial Arts Insurance" you get a lot of hits. In addition, many (most?) martial arts associations offer some kind of liability insurance through their auspices. As to specifics, I am afraid I have no advice to offer. I am sure there are many here with their own schools who can assist you, but I am just a student.

Stac3y

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I would ask around to others with dojos and find an attorney to advise you on the issue. Best to get expert advice on something this important.

K-man

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Hi everyone,