Handicap and MA

Yari

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
How does your styl handle hadicaps, like 1 arm or leg? Or what about 1 eye (no 3-d perception)? Or sitting in a wheel chair.

Can a person train your styl at all if they have a handicap?

How does it "modify" your styl if the person is handicap?

/Yari

G

GouRonin

Dave Hebler is a 10th Dan under Ed Parker who has trained in American Kenpo for YEARS and was blinded in one eye as a boy. He never had use if it. He's now a 10th with the OAKKA.

OP
Yari

Yari

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
That's great! Must be hard judgeing distances with one. All respect from me!

When I wrote this thread I was thinking about so many dojo's taht clam it's for everbody, and we have room for everbody. But I've only been in 1 dojo where they really tried to handle this situation. As an instructor I had to pratice teaching MA to blind and deaf, amonst other handicaps. It was a great experience.

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
My art is supposed to be a kicking art so it's a little difficult to teach some of it to a one legged man or someone with no legs. However I can show them the hand aspects of the art.
The one legged man can learn to kick and blance some even try flying techniques. Both people can fight from the ground useing grappleing, and hand strikes.
My own son has only limited use of the left side of his body due to a auto accident and three major strokes that followed. His spine is held togeather even today by steelrods, yet he still practices what he can do. If a movement requires a closed or open hand the technique can be modified to work within his range of motion. Yes he has problems with certian kicks and there are things he is physicaly unable to do but he can sure correct some one (verbaly) when they do it wrong. Hell he may remember some technique better than I do ( I am getting forgetful these days)