Shoke ?

A

Alton

I am new at all this so if this is sometjing that is know by most of you please forgive my not knowing.
My grandson has started takeing lesson in Karate (I think) and I would like to take a few lesson with him . For my age I am in rather good shape (bench press 200 run a mile in under 8 min. do 75 to 100 situps at a time) so the physical part dose not bother me.
What I am concerned with is his instructor, a man the students say is the grandmaster or shoke(SP) of the school. Now I am not saying he cant do some impressive things but then I'm not a matrial artist. This guy can't be over 35 years old and says he got his sokeship last year. Is this possible ?Can this young man be a grandmaster or did he buy his title through some mail away store.
I want my grandson to study but I'm jusst not sure this fellow is real. I asked him what he was teaching and he said it was a combination of three or for things.Can't remember there names.
Would I be better off to drive my grandson to a larger area ,about an hour away, and have him study in some of the schools there. I amm not even sure how to tell one school from another. I know what looks good to me but dont know if its really any good.
Thank you,
Alton

OP
G

GouRonin

Originally posted by Alton
What I am concerned with is his instructor, a man the students say is the grandmaster or shoke(SP) of the school. Now I am not saying he cant do some impressive things but then I'm not a matrial artist. This guy can't be over 35 years old and says he got his sokeship last year. Is this possible ?Can this young man be a grandmaster or did he buy his title through some mail away store.

Why don't you ask him about his lineage. Then go verify it. If I was visiting a Dr. and depending on her to do something for me I'd like to know where she did her residency.

OP
K

Kirk

I don't think any respecting instructor would mind any potential
student questioning him or her on her lineage, or wrote down