Teaching techniques to the handicaped

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
If you are an instructor How do you go about teaching the handicapped/
I would like all instructors to commit from there experences.
Examples: how do you teach the blind person who wants to learn Arnis. how do you train the polio victum that wants to learn TKD, or the older person that suddenly decieds to learn judo ?
How many have students with ASHD in class, or someone that is mentaly retarded (no disrespect inteended , Do not know politicly correct term these days)
Lets toss around helpful ideas maybe we all can help each other with this one. I know that those with many years teaching must have incountered problems in the past that they worked out
Shadow:asian:

B

Battousai

I have had some limited experience teaching someone in a wheelchair. (My instructor loves teaching handicaped people, so I was introduced to it a little bit). From what little I know, people in wheelchairs have a great advantage when dealing with jujitsu techniques. Their low center of mass allows them to be able to do hard throwing techniques easier then the average biped, in some cases techniques that normal people can't do at all. There are certainly advantages to what appears to be a disadvantage...
Something really cool about wheelchairs is that mean people like to grab them and try to mess around and push the supposed helpless person around. A simple uraken strike to a hand grabbing a metal part of the chair will break bones. Fun stuff :)

T

tigerstorm